Installing Oracle 11g Database

23 09 2007

Oracle 11g has been out for a couple of months now and I found me some time to play around a bit.

One thing that immediately sprang out to me is the size of the download, 1,7GB zip file. That’s something different from the promise Oracle made when introducing 10g where you only needed one CD and 15 minutes to install an oracle database. That was key-note stuff, back then. Now not so important anymore, apparently.

I do not have that much hardware available to play around with so it had to be a virtual machine. I had created a CentOS 4.4 VM some months back, so that seemed a logical choice. Of course it is wise to upgrade the installed packages when you have not been using a CentOS recently. So Up2date was the first to start in the VM. I had no trouble in starting it, just that it took quite some time to finish downloading and installing all packages. Another evening of not doing very much, just a lot of waiting.

The time I had to wait however was eventually well spent because it gave others the time to finish the same action and blog about it. All I next had to do is follow in the footsteps of Howard to prepare linux and install oracle. Of course the installation failed when a starter database was to be created because there was not enough disk space in the VM. I am not a unix or linux administrator so that was another evening puzzling and googling about. But I succeeded eventually.

The next install (after removing the original one the’hard’ way) went smoothly, so now I have a virtual machine with a DWH11 and a REPO11 Oracele 11g database. Next up; installing Warehouse builder environment in the Kadenza style.

(tip of the veil; it is installed, but the description will have to wait till after preparing and savouring dinner and watching a ‘supersunday’ of Dutch soccer (AZ-Ajax and PSV-Feijenoord, no 1-4 currently))

Actions

Information

3 responses

24 09 2007
Robbert

A complete description including the Oracle Enterprise Linux install (so no lack of diskspace in Linux!) can be found here:
http://www.oracle-base.com/articles/11g/OracleDB11gR1InstallationOnEnterpriseLinux4and5.php

26 09 2007
ebuddelm

Robbert,

It is a good description of the installation and an excellent alternative for the one I used from Howard Rogers. But, (there is always a ‘but’) I see nothing in the description from Tim that would have prevented me from running out of disk space. Entirely my own fault of course, and I learned from it.

Moreover the description from Howard uses yum to install the rpm’s that oracle needs. And installing rpm’s is one of the linux administrator tasks I have been having trouble with. As I said, I am not a sysadmin really. Yum is a nice summer breeze compared to using rpm -U when you don’t know the location of the source file. Which Tim conveniently mentions in his description, but I did not know berfore. All yum needs is an internet connection. Sometimes a bit slow, but most of the time very easy.

5 10 2007
S.Jaafar Ahmed

ebuddelm,
You can manage Yum repositories to get the rpms from the CD/hdd only.

Leave a Reply

